Are We OK?

I think the point of realisation that I might be pregnant has to be one most random yet.

It was actually on 22nd December after a night out with my friends when a joke was made about my cheeks being fuller and if I was ‘late’ – I joked that sure I’m always late, referring to my rather dodgy time keeping skills and that was the end of it. Until the next day.

It’s safe to say we all had a rather heavy night, and so it was no surprise to me when I felt a bit dodgy standing beside a meat and cheese stall at the market the next day. Having to get out of there quickly, I beckoned to my mum to go and off we went. The queasiness didn’t pass and as I was lying on the sofa feeling sorry for myself I started thinking about when my period was due and realised I was actually overdue by a few days.

My mind went into overdrive as I started obsessing about it all but it wasn’t until Christmas Eve (perfect timing right?!) that I decided to do a test as I nearly threw up all over breakfast. Unluckily for me, we were going down to my husband’s parents house in Ireland for Christmas so I took the test quickly before we left and lo and behold there was an error. Severely pissed off and in a rush, I decided to bring a test with me to their house and do it on Christmas Day.

Needless to say I woke up VERY early on Christmas Day, and it wasn’t to see if Santa had left any presents around the tree! So I took the test and there I saw the confirmation that I was expecting. Back into the bedroom I went and was greeted by my husband asking “Are we OK?” Probably not the best question to ask me when I am shaking like a leaf in disbelief but I managed to squeak out “If you’re OK being a Dad?!”…and so began the roller coaster ride that we are on now!

I’d love to hear your stories on how you and your other half found out! There are so many beautiful ways people first find out that it makes me emotional every time! Although maybe that’s the hormones!

T x

That night

Leave a Reply

