Heartburn’s a B*tch

Ah how nice! Another dreaded pregnancy symptom has crept it’s way into my life: heartburn. I’ll be honest right now and let you all know that I got a bit cocky and thought I had escaped this particular symptom but it wasn’t to be. In fact, the other night has to be the worst I’ve ever had heartburn. It was god awful.

Unfortunately I was down with my in-laws for a few nights when the episode occurred. There was a bit of a celebration going on as my sister-in-law had just got engaged so there was plenty of rich and sweet food taken. Usually if I feel something coming on I just have a few glasses of milk and I’m happy but this time it didn’t work! It kept building up and building up until I couldn’t cope any more.

It was about 2 in the morning and I decided I’d had enough so I took my mother-in-law’s advice and reluctantly took a teaspoon of baking soda with water. Now I’m funny with textures – I’d ever have a paracetamol in water as it would make me puke and chewing on Rennies or drinking Gaviscon is a no go – so I had been trying to put this off for a few hours. I’m not going to lie, it wasn’t nice. It was incredibly salty and I had to drink a whole glass but no kidding, literally two minutes after I drank it I burped and the pain went away slightly. Every time I burped the pain eased! It’s a definite home remedy that works! OK, I had to have some more at like 4am (that’s how bad the heartburn was) but it’s definitely something I will try before I try anything else in future!

What remedies have you tried for heartburn? Do they work? Would love to hear other options in case this one fails me at some stage!

T x

Leave a Reply

